Sabah Football Fan blog with news, schedule, result, statistic , records and more.

Sunday, November 17, 2013

16 players shortlisted for President’s Cup trials

New Sabah Times
THE CHAMPIONS … Masiung (standing sixth from left) posing with the champions.
KOTA KINABALU: The Sabah FA has shortlisted a total of 16 players to attend selection trials for the President’s Cup squad 2014. These players were spotted during the just concluded Datuk Seri Musa Haji Aman Cup Inter-District Football Tournament 2013. Head of the Selection Panel Justin Ganai said the selected players are required to report for the selection trials to be held at the Kota Kinabalu Sports Complex field B on Monday (4pm).

 “We will be holding three days of selection trials, starting on Monday (Nov 18). “Even the current players (President’s Cup) will also have to undergo the selection trials, as there will be no automatic place for them. “We want the best players, who are committed, and dedicated to play for the Sabah team,” said Justin when met at the Datuk Seri Musa Haji Aman Cup Inter-District Football Tournament 2013 dinner cum prize giving ceremony at a leading hotel here on Friday.

 Throughout the five-day tournament, Justin was assisted by Burhan Ajui and Matasan Ahmad in picking the best talents. The selected players are Mohd Azwan Abdul Fattah, Juneiki Martin, Sharizam Sahar, Ghazali Omar (Tawau), Ricco Nigel Milus, Edward Musa, Andy Roslan (Kota Belud), Jacques Bin Jenny, Shafie Bin Talib, Fizul Bin Asong (Pitas), Raific Bin Rahim, Raymond Mutang (Sipitang), Azlie Saidi (Papar), Richie Yusman, Jackson Pengalau (Keningau) and Ridzuan Raymond (Beluran).]

 Meanwhile, the Chief Minister, who also helms the association, in his speech delivered by Assistant Youth and Sports Minister Masiung Banah, said that the tournament will be made an annual affair. He said the tournament has a significant meaning in accelerating and strengthening the development of football in the State.

 “I fully support such tournaments because I believe it not only enables us to unearth new talents, but it could also help us instill and enhance professionalism, not only among our players, but also officials and coaches,” said Musa. For the record, Keningau emerged champions of the inaugural tournament after defeating Tawau 4-2 in the final. Kinabatangan and Sipitang finished as joint third after losing to Keningau and Tawau respectively in the semis.

 The feat saw Keningau walk home with RM5,000 plus the challenge trophy, trophy and medals while Tawau settled for RM3,000 plus medals. Kinabatangan and Sipitang were rewarded with RM1,000 each. The other four teams competing in the final round of the tournament were Papar, Beluran, Kota Belud and Pitas.

 The FA Deputy President Datuk Lawrence Gimbang, Assistant Agriculture and Food Industry Minister cum Liawan Assemblyman Datuk Haji Sairin Karno, Youth and Sports Ministry Deputy Permanent Secretary II Penyuki Mata, Sabah Sports Board General Manager Terrance Pudin, the FA Vice President Datuk Yusof Kassim and Secretary General Alijus Hj Sipil were also present at the function.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...