Sabah Football Fan blog with news, schedule, result, statistic , records and more.

Friday, November 15, 2013

Musa returned unopposed as SFA president

New Sabah Times

KOTA KINABALU: Datuk Seri Musa Haji Aman look sets to lead the Sabah Football Association for another term after returning unopposed when nominations closed last month. The Chief Minister was unanimously nominated by all the association’s affiliate members to helm the FA for another term, which will be his second after taking over the hot seat four or five years ago or so. The FA will be holding its Congress, their first since their registration under the Malaysian Sports Commissioner (MSC), on Saturday.

Election for new office bearers will also be held during the Congress. A source close to the FA also hinted that there is unlikely to be any contest for the two deputy president posts. It is believed that the FA only received two nominations for the posts with Youth and Sports Minister Datuk Tawfiq Abu Bakar Titingan and incumbent Datuk Lawrence Gimbang set to become Musa’s right hand men.

 While people may have the thought of conflict of interests should Tawfiq accept his nomination, but it would be a great deal for the FA to have him in the association that seems to have gained the limelight, but unfortunately for now, it has been for the wrong reasons. There have been a number of nominations received for the four vice presidents’ posts.

 Incumbents Datuk Osman Jamal and Datuk Yusof Kassim were among them. Former Assistant Youth and Sports Minister Datuk Jahid Jahim, who is no stranger to Sabah football, as well as its former treasurer and team manager Joehari Datuk Ayub were also said to be in the list. Another incumbent KH Tan is believed to have opted out of the race.

Tan, who is also a rugby man, is said to want to give his fullest concentration on rugby now that he has been elected to be the vice president of the Malaysian Rugby Union. He is also the Sabah Rugby Union deputy president. Under the FA’s previous set-up, there were three vice presidents’ posts. As for the eight council members posts, there are also a number of names that have been mentioned including former supreme council member and team manager Rahman Zakaria, Yamani Hafez Musa, who is the current chairman of the FA’s Futsal and Beach Football Committee to name a few.

 For the record, supposedly there are 25 districts affiliated to the FA, however, not all of them are eligible vote during the Congress, as they have yet to register with the MSC. However, they can still send representatives to the Congress as observers. For those eligible districts, they will have two representatives at the Congress, and both will be eligible to vote.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...