Sabah Football Fan blog with news, schedule, result, statistic , records and more.

Friday, November 16, 2018

Three Sabahans for national trials


KOTA KINABALU: Three Sabahans have been selected by national Under-21 head coach Datuk Ong Kim Swee to attend centralised training cum selection trials, which will be held at Wisma FAM in Kelana Jaya from November 29 to December 9. Kim Swee is preparing the team for the upcoming Newspaper Cup Under-21 Championship in Nah Trang City, Vietnam from December 10 to 19. 

Interestingly, the son of former Sabah hotshot Scott Ollerenshaw, Jordan Ollerenshaw, will be part of the training squad. The other two are Ariusdius Jais and Evan Wensley Wenceslaus. Both Jordon and Arius are attacking players and can be deployed on the flanks or as strikers while Evan is a defender. The trio is among the 30-man list that was published in the FA of Malaysia’s official website yesterday.

The trio caught the eyes of the national coach following their impressive display this season. Jordan, a product of the Cruizero Brazil Academy based in Phuket, Thailand, was with Johor Darul Ta’zim III featuring in the President’s Cup challenge before he went to Sydney, and played for Scott’s old club, St George City on loan (from JDT III) mid-season this year, where he scored five goals for his new outfit.

 For Arius, the selection was justified following his impressive run of form for Sabah, especially in the recent 19th Malaysia Games (Sukma) in Perak. The Kota Marudu lad, 20, bagged five goals in as many matches to help Sabah clinch a bronze medal. Kim Swee will trim the training squad to 20 players who will travel to the championship, which is happening from December 10-19.

 Malaysia last competed in the Newspaper Cup in 2014 and were champions in 2012 when Kim Swee was the head coach. The full list of the training squad is as follows – Nik Akif Syahiran Nik Mat, Nik Azli Nik Alias, Afiq Saluddin, Mohd Juzaerul Jasmi, Muhammad Danial Ashraf Abdullah, Muhammad Danial Haqim Draman, Mohamad Sharul Nizam Ros Hasni (all from Kelantan), Shivan Pillay Asokan, Damien Lim Chien Khai, Muhammad Khairu Anwar Khazali, Ahmad Ikhwan Hafiz, Afriff Ar Rasyid Ariffib (PKNS), Muhammad Izzan Syahmi Mustapa, Mohammad Ridzuan Mohd Razali, Nik Mohd Amin Ahmad (Terengganu), Muhammad Zahril Azri, Daniel Amier Norhashim (Felda United FC), Dominic Tan Jun Jin (JDT), Mohamad Hariz Kamarudin (JDT II), Mohamad Fayadh Mohd Zulkifli Amin, Mohd Fazrul Danel Mohd Nizam (Kedah), Mohd Faisal Abdul Halim, R. Dinesh (Pahang), Sharul Nazeem Zulpakar, Mohd Asraff Hayqal Zainal (Selangor), Ariusdius Jais, Evan Wensley Wenceslaus (Sabah), Muhammad Al Imran Abdul Halim (UiTM), Muhamad Hamka Daud (Negeri Sembilan), Jordan Ollerenshaw (St George).
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...